Prez Akufo-Addo swears into Office first Muslim Supreme Court Judge in Ghana

Must Read

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

President of the Republic Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has sworn into office the first ever Muslim Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana, Justice Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu, at a bruef ceremony at the Banquet hall of the Jubilee House today the 22nd of May 2020.

Addressing the swearing in ceremony after administering three Oaths; the Oath of Allegiance, the Judicial Oath and the Oath of Secrecy, to Justice Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu, President Akufo-Addo, congratulated him on his appointment and indicated that it is a well deserved elevation that is also taking place during the holy month of Ramadan. He urged the new Justice of the Supreme Court to help develop the jurisprudence of the Republic with his rich experience both in private practice and on the Bench.

“This is the first time in the history of our nation that a Muslim has been appointed to the highest Court of the land. I am delighted to have been the President to have the honour of doing so and to do so appropriately in this holy month of Ramadan” President Akufo-Addo said.


Justice Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu, in his response to the remarks of the President registered his gratitude to the President, the Council of State and Parliament for the honour done him. He indicated that he will discharge his constitutional and Judicial duties without fear or favour.

“I hereby once again commit myself to uphold the constitution of the Republic and live my Judicial oath in the discharge of my duties” Justice Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu posited.


Parliament on the 20th of May 2020 approved the nomination of four (4) Justices of the Supreme Court. They are Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenugah, Justice Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu, Mr. Yonny Kulendi and Prof. Henrietta Mensah Bonsu.

Justice Amadu Tanko’s swearing in followed the swearing in of his colleague Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenuga earlier in the day. Mr. Yonny Kulendi and Prof. Henrietta Mensah Bonsu, will both be sworn into office on Tuesday the 26th of May 2020.


There currently fourteen (14) Justices of the Supreme Court and they are His Lordship Justice Anin Yeboah, the Chief Justice of the Republic. The other Justices are His Lordship Justice Julius Ansah, His Lordship Justice Jones Dotse, His Lordship Justice Paul Baffoe Bonnie, His Lordship Justice Nasiru S. Gbadegbe, His Lordship Justice Yaw Appau, His Lordship Justice Gabriel Pwamang. The rest are His Lordship Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Her Ladyship Justice Agnes M.A. Dordzie, His Lordship Justice Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher, His Lordship Justice Prof. Nii Ashie Kotey, Her Ladyship Justice Mariama Owusu, Her Ladyship Justice Avril Lovelace Johnson and Her Ladyship Justice Gertrude Torkornoo.

With the approval by Parliament and the subsequent swearing in of four more Justices of the Supreme Court, Ghana’s Apex Court now has eighteen (18) Justices. It is expected that some of Justices of the Supreme Court would retire from the bench within the year 2020.


More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week