Punish ‘ballot-snatching’ Carlos Ahenkorah – Murtala Mohammed 

Must Read

Sadness as rumours of Cynthia Morrison’s exit hit Gender Ministry

Staff at the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection as well as agencies under the ministry are wearing...

Akwatia mourns death of young stripper, Ama Broni

The entire Akwatia town in the Eastern Region was thrown into a state of shock when news broke that...

Appointments and Business Committees to begin work pending review of Standing Orders

The Selection Committee of Parliament has proposed some 26 persons and 20 to constitute the Appointments Committee and Business...

National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Nanton Constituency, Murtala Mohammed, has said that Carlos Ahenkorah must be dealt with over his misbehaviour in Parliament early Thursday.

Mr. Muntala Mohammed told Angel FM’s Kofi Adoma in an interview that, the action of the Tema West MP deserves punishement and therefore, must be dealt with.

During the ballot counting Parliament to determine who won the position of Speaker of Parliament, the Tema West MP snatched ballot papers and absconded with them.Carlos Ahenkora

This infuriated some members present at the scene especially the NDC, who are calling for him to be punished.

Military invasion

Meanwhile, Mr Murtala says the NDC MPs are unaware of how armed personnel from the military made way in to the house.Military in Parliament

The Nanton MP alleged, he overheard Defense Minister, Dominic Nitiwul, making calls to the secuirty and therefore, is responsible for their presence in the chamber and must be called to answer.


Late Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Parliament met to dissolve the 7th Parliament and to inaugurate the new Parliament, the 8th Parliament of the 4th Repuplic, to begin the parliamentary work of the new government and to elect a new Speaker.

Experienced politician and one of the country’s longest serving MPs, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin beat Speaker of the 7th Parliament, become Speaker of the 8th Parliament after the ballots were counted on the floor.

The newly elected president of the republic, Nana Akufo-Addo, was also sworn into office same day to begin his final constitutionally mandated second term.

The opposition party’s MPs, whose 2020 flagbearer, John Mahama, is challenging the presidential election results at the Supreme Court, were visibly missing at the ceremony. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Read This Week


More Stories For You