Electoral Commission cancels registration certificates of 17 political parties

Must Read

The Electoral Commission has removed the names of 17 political parties from the list of recognised political organisations in Ghana.

The delisting of the parties follows their failure to furnish the Commission with details of their existence and location of their national, regional, district and constituency offices, as required by law.

The decision is pursuant to the publication by the Electoral Commission dated 13th and 17th October 2022, where the parties were given up to Thursday, October 20, 2022, to show proof to avert their certificate cancellation.

- Advertisement -

EC, therefore, invoked section 15 (3) of the Political Parties Act 2000, Act 574, which mandates it to cancel the registration of political parties which do not have offices at the National and regional levels.

The affected parties include the United Progressive Party (UPP) which is formed and led by Akwasi Addae, popularly known as Odike, the United Front Party (UFP) also formed by Mr Akwasi Addae and Nana Agyenim Boateng but separated due to some disagreement.

Other parties are the Democratic Freedom Party (DFP) formed by Obed Yao Asamoah and some members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), and the National Reform Party led by Goosie Tanoh and other disgruntled NDC members

- Advertisement -

Reform Patriotic Democrats led by Kofi Akpaloo now leader of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) is also on the list of affected political parties.

The full list of the parties are:

  1. Democratic People’s Party (DPP)
  2. United Front Party (UFP)
  3. United Development System Party (UDSP)
  4. Every Ghanaian Living Everywhere (EGLE)
  5. Yes People’s Party (YPP)
  6. United Ghana Movement (UGM)
  7. Democratic Freedom Party (DFP)
  8. New Vision Party (NVP)
  9. Ghana Democratic Republican Party (GDRP)
  10. Ghana National Party (GNP)
  11. Power Unity Party (PUP)
  12. United Progressive Party (UPP)
  13. Reform Patriotic Democrats (RPD)
  14. People’s Action Party (PAP)
  15. United Renaissance Party (URP)
  16. National Reform Party (NRP)
  17. United Love Party (ULP)

More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week