Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu to step down as Majority Leader in Parliament

Must Read

The outgoing Suame Constituency representative in Parliament,  Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu will in the coming days, announce his decision to step down as Majority Leader in Parliament.

Mr. Mensah-Bonsu is to he replaced by his Deputy, Alexander Afenyo-Markin. learns this is coming from a crunch meeting held at the Jubilee House on Wednesday, February 21, 2024.

This latest development is coming after some Majority MPs, led by the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu told journalists on Tuesday that no one outside Parliament can change the leadership of the Majority Caucus.

Mr Osei-Owusu made these comments following rumours of a potential reshuffle of the leadership of the Majority Caucus, with the suggestion that the Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, was to be replaced by his Deputy, Alexander Afenyo-Markin.

Per earlier reports, current Majority Chief Whip and MP for Nsawam/Adoagyire, Frank Annoh-Dompreh in the Eastern Region will now be the Deputy Majority Leader.

The Member of Parliament for the Tolon constituency in the Northern Region, Alhaji Habib Iddrisu, the 1st Deputy Whip, will be elevated to the position of Chief whip.

Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu currently holds the record as Ghana’s longest-serving lawmaker. He has been a Member of Parliament for Suame Constituency for the seventh consecutive time.

He has occupied the following positions since he joined parliament in the 2nd parliament.

  • Majority Leader / Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
  • Deputy Majority Leader
  • Majority Chief Whip / Deputy Whip/ Affairs
  • Minority Leader / Leader of Government Business

Hon. Osei-Kyei-Mensah Bonsu has also served on the various committee which include.

  • Special Budget Committee
  • House Committee
  • Business Committee
  • Standing Order Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Mines and Energy Committee
  • Committee of Selection committee

More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week