Prez Akufo-Addo swears in Justice Honyenuga

Must Read

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

President of the Republic Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has persuant to article 144, clause 2 of the 1992 Constitution sworn into office Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenuga as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana.

Addressing the swearing in ceremony at the Banquet hall of the Jubilee House after administering three Oaths; the Oath of Allegiance, the Judicial Oath and the Oath of Secrecy, to Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenuga, President Akufo-Addo, congratulated Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenuga, on his appointment and indicated that it is a well deserved elevation.

He urged the new Justice of the Supreme Court to help develop the jurisprudence of the Republic with his rich experience both in private practice and on the Bench.

“I know you have had a somewhat difficult few weeks in the run up to today. Happily, you comported yourself in a dignified manner and i can only urge you to overlook these events which should be a lere blip on your public career and dispense Justice in accordance with your conscience and the rule of law” President Akufo-Addo said.


Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenuga, in his response to the remarks of the President said his journey to the Supreme Court has been rocky, however, he indicated that he will do everything within the law to uphold the 1992 Constitution in the discharge of his duties.

“My road to the Supreme Court has been rocky but my fullest thanks goes to his Excellency, the President of the Republic of Ghana, the Council of State, the Judicial Council and Parliament for granting me this mantle. I wish to assure your Excellency the President, that i would to the best of mu ability, uphold the faith reposed in me to ensure that the 1992 Constitution is upheld and for that matter the rule of law. I will therefore do my best not to disappoint” Justice Honyenuga stated.


Parliament on the 20th of May 2020 approved the nomination of four (4) Justices of the Supreme Court. They are Justice Clemence Jackson Honyenugah, Justice Amadu Tanko, Mr. Yonny Kulendi and Prof. Henrietta Mensah Bonsu.

Justice Amadu Tanko, is also expected to be sworn into office later today. However, Mr. Yonny Kulendi and Prof. Henrietta Mensah Bonsu, will both be sworn into office on Tuesday the 26th of May 2020.


There currently fourteen (14) Justices of the Supreme Court and they are His Lordship Justice Anin Yeboah, the Chief Justice of the Republic. The other Justices are His Lordship Justice Julius Ansah, His Lordship Justice Jones Dotse, His Lordship Justice Paul Baffoe Bonnie, His Lordship Justice Nasiru S. Gbadegbe, His Lordship Justice Yaw Appau, His Lordship Justice Gabriel Pwamang. The rest are His Lordship Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Her Ladyship Justice Agnes M.A. Dordzie, His Lordship Justice Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher, His Lordship Justice Prof. Nii Ashie Kotey, Her Ladyship Justice Mariama Owusu, Her Ladyship Justice Avril Lovelace Johnson and Her Ladyship Justice Gertrude Torkornoo.

With the approval by Parliament and the subsequent swearing in of four more Justices of the Supreme Court, Ghana’s Apex Court now has eighteen (18) Justices. It is expected that some of Justices of the Supreme Court would retire from the bench within the year 2020.


More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week