2024 polls: Asamoah Gyan heads Bawumia’s manifesto sports committee

Must Read

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Legendary Ghanaian footballer, Asamoah Gyan, has been appointed to chair the manifesto sports sub-committee for the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia.

The ex-Black Stars captain’s inclusion in the governing party’s manifesto committee assigned for various sectors, was made known on Wednesday, February 21, 2024.

Gyan, 38, would be expected to use his vast experience of the game to propose policies regarding youth and sports with his expertise for the NPP.

The Ghana all-time leading goal scorer’s position on the committee comes a few hours after the player in a post on social media, called on his fellow ex-footballers to come on board and help revitalise sports in the country and redeem its glory.

The former Rennes and Udinese forward on the NPP’s manifesto committee comes as no surprise to many as he was recently spotted at the UPSA auditorium when Dr Bawumia detailed his vision to lead Ghana as the next president.

Find below the composition of the committee chairs and their various designations.

1. Manifesto Committee
a. Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Chairman of the Manifesto Committee Chair
b. Hon Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Vice-Chairman of the Manifesto Committee
c. Evron Hughes, Secretary of the Manifesto Committee
2. Manifesto Committee Coordinators
a. Prof. Kwaku Appiah Adu, Coordinator of the Manifesto Committee
b. Dr. Isaac Owusu Mensah, Coordinator of the Manifesto Committee
3. Manifesto Sub-Commitee Chairs
a. Dr. Assibey Yeboah, Economy
b. Tony Oteng Gyasi, Trade and Industry
c. Kwakwo Nsafoah Poku, Energy and Petroleum
d. William Oppong-Bio, Agriculture
e. Dr. Augustine Blay, Communicaton and Digitalization
f. Dr. Gideon Boako, Lands, Minerals, and Natural Resources
g. Dr. Emmanuel Marfo, Science, Technology, Innovation, and Environment
h. Maxwell Opoku Agyeman, Legal and Governance
I. Justina Marigold, Local Government

J. Ing. Kwabena Agyapong, Housing and Infrastructure
k. Hassan Tampuli, Transport
l. Edward Asomani, Security
m. Michael Ocquaye, Jnr, Foreign Affairs
n. Asamoah Gyan, Youth and Sports
o. Juliet Asante, Tourism, Culture, and Creative Arts
p. Ama Serwaa, Gender
q. Kofi Dzamesi, Chieftaincy, Religious Affairs, and Civil Society
r. Dr. Ayew Afriyie, Health
s. Dr. Prince Hamid Armah, Educaton


More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week