Nine cleared to contest NPP Ejisu Constituency by-election

Must Read

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Director of Elections for the New Patriotic Party, Evans Nimako has revealed that Nine individuals filed nominations to contest for the NPP ahead of the Ejisu constituency by-election.

He added that all nine have been cleared fit to contest for the position after a successful vetting on Saturday, April 6, 2024.

Evans Nimako made this revelation on Angel Morning Show, Monday, April 8, 2024 while giving update on the processes hitherto the election of a representative for the New Patriotic Party in the upcoming by-election.

“The vetting committee met with the aspirants and informed them that they are fit to contest for the by-election subject to the approval of National Executive Committee,” he told Katakyie Afrifa Mensah.

He added that no aspirant was disqualified outlining that they all passed constitutional and party provisions criteria for the position.

“As I said early on, we looked at Article 94 of Ghana’s Constitution, Party Constitution and the guidelines in the nomination forms published by the General Secretary and based on those premises, all the nine aspirants have passed the vetting subject to the approval of National Executive Committee,” he added.

Ejisu Constituency, the home region of the former Deputy Health Minister, Lawyer John Kuma was hit with sad news when their representative in parliament passed on March 7, 2024. The sad development necessitates an immediate replacement as to who leads the party in the constituency and also in parliament.

The party opened nominations on April 2, 2024 to April 4, 2024 and conducted vetting on Saturday, April 6, 2024. After the vetting, all nine aspirants were cleared to contest in the by-election.

Below are the approved aspirants, subject to the approval of the National Executive Committee of the party.

  1. Kwabena Boateng
  2. Dr. Evans Duah
  3. Klinsman Karikari Mensah
  4. Helena Mensah
  5. Jacqueline Abena Pokua Amoah-Boaitey
  6. Portia Baffoe Abronye
  7. Kwesi Nyantakyi
  8. Aaron Prince Duah
  9. Yaa Akyawmaa Aboagye

More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week