NPP flagbearer elections: Boakye Agyarko picks nomination

Must Read

Barely 24 hours after the New Patriotic Party (NPP) opened nomination forms for persons seeking to be the flagbearer of the party for the 2024 elections, Boakye Kyeremanteng Agyarko has picked nomination forms to contest the flagbearer position.

Okoampah Ebenezer, the spokesperson of Mr. Agyarko, picked up the forms in Accra on Friday, May 26, 2023, on behalf of the former Energy Minister.

Speaking with the media, Okoampah Ebenezer, indicated that, Boakye Agyarko had served the party well, thus, his vast experience befit him to contest the seat.

Ebenezer Okoampah
- Advertisement -

According to him, following a nationwide tour, Mr. Agyarko has fully been endorsed by the party faithful in 15 regions across the country.

He added, they cited his track record and his in-depth knowledge in the political fronts among many others which will lead the NPP to retain power in the upcoming 2024 General elections.

The former Energy Minister, and a founding member of the NPP, Boakye Kyeremanteng Agyarko had in early 2023 reiterated his intentions for his presidential ambitions.

- Advertisement -

The NPP on Thursday, May 25, announced that all was set for the opening of nominations for the election of its Presidential candidate and Parliamentary Candidates for the 2024 General Elections.

As such, effective, Friday, May 26, Nomination Forms for the candidates can be obtained from the Office of the General Secretary at the Party’s Headquarters at Asylum Down, Accra effective 10 am from Monday to Friday.

“Pursuant to the National Council timelines, the Party hereby announces, the opening of nominations for the presidential primary election. Nomination forms shall be obtained from the Office of the General Secretary at the Party Headquarters, Asylum Down, from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm (Monday to Friday),” the statement said as announcement by the General Secretary of the party, Justin Kodua in a release on Thursday.

According to the statement, the party will close nominations on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

“Consequently, an Aspiring Presidential Candidate shall obtain the Nomination Forms after payment of a non-refundable nomination fee of Fifty Thousand Ghana Cedis (GHC 50, 000.00) only, through a Bankers Draft issued to the NEW PATRIOTIC PARTY NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS, ACCRA as payee…,” the statement stressed.

With the step, Boakye Agyarko will be facing stiffer opposition from other aspirants such as immediate past Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyeremanten, MP for Assin Central Kennedy Agyepong, Dr. Bawumia and Dr. Afriyie Akoto a former Agric Minister who have all declared their intention to contest the position.

More Latest Stories


Most Read This Week